Boyfriend, Fiancée, Happy, Love, Oil field, Simple man, Small town, Young couple, Young family

my oil field man. 

Rugged hands , the smell of 12 hours of work 

Caress my check … Dancing me into consciousness.
Yet I’ve never felt anything so soft. 
A simple smile. A simple man. 
Greets me from slumber. 
To the rest of the world , he comes off hard and tough. 
But never has anyone treated me so gently , looked at me so lovingly or held me so tenderly . 
A part of me leaves with him every two weeks. Like the mud stuck on his boots. 
As he leaves a trail of hardended muck… As if he too is leaving a part of his soul. Every step another little piece breaks off. 
It wasn’t supposed to happen here and like this yet every day I walk into an empty cold house. Deflated without the warmth of his smile. And I know this was supposed to happen like this right now. 
Forever.
Standard

Leave a comment